Guest Post and Giveaway: J.T. Geissinger

Please welcome the fabulous J.T. Geissinger, author of the new paranormal romance, Edge of Oblivion.

Topic: Confessions of a Book Addict

One of my best friends has a serious (and expensive) shoe habit. Another has a love for chocolate so profound she never leaves the house without at least a little piece in her handbag. A third is so devoted to Bruce Springsteen she has travelled to over eighteen countries to see him live in concert, and refuses to play any other artist on her stereo.

Me? I’m a book addict. And damn proud of it.

Like many addictions, mine has its roots in childhood. I was raised by parents who read everything; and by everything I really mean everything. Newspapers, magazines, books, periodicals, the backs of cereal boxes, other people’s mail. Every surface in our house was covered in paper, every room (with the exception of the kitchen and bathrooms) had at least one overflowing bookcase. When such a premium is placed on reading, it’s hard for a kid not to notice, and pick up the habit.

The first book I bought with my own money was Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews. I was ten years old and had earned enough money doing chores to go on a buying spree at the local book store. I snuck the book in between several others I knew wouldn’t rouse any objections from my mother, and insisted I take the books to the cashier myself.

Sneaking, secrets, illicit pleasure; that was the day a life-long addiction took root.

Though still an adolescent, I soon graduated to more adult fare, and was devouring books at a rate to rival the growth of the national debt. I loved the smell of books, the cover design, the titillating little blurbs on the cover that promised of wonders inside. I hoarded books, I wrote in the margins, I kept loaners from the library so long we were visited by what my mother now calls the “library police” who were wondering if perhaps I’d like to return the four dozen overdue books on my account.

So as most addictions are wont to do, mine worsened over time. It wasn’t enough just to read books. No, I had to write one.

It took years to get to that point but one day in the cold, depressing aftermath of a significant birthday I awoke with the sizzling hot conviction that I WOULD WRITE A BOOK. Conveniently, I had an idea for my novel; I’d recently adopted a beautiful, slinky stray cat who looked exactly like a little panther and seemed to appear and disappear at will. She was a smart little thing, imperious and quite convinced of her own superiority to pretty much everything else, and I fell deeply in love. After some heavy research on the ancient cat worship cultures of Egypt and some gleeful world-building that included hidden colonies of panther-shifters and the hunters who wanted to exterminate them, I had the bones for the Ikati society and what would become my first novel, Shadow’s Edge.

I wish I could say writing a book cured my addiction, but in all honesty I think I’ve just created another monster. There’s six books planned for the Night Prowler series, and I’ve got a million ideas for more.

Maybe it’s time for a twelve step program.

Edge of Oblivion
Night Prowler Novels, Book Two
J.T. Geissinger
 
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Montlake Romance
 
ISBN: 1612184197
ASIN: B007SX0246
 
Number of pages: 384
Word Count: 98,000
 

Buy Links:
Amazon

Book Description:

Morgan Montgomery is waiting to die. Branded a traitor by her tribe, the Ikati shape-shifter has no hope for mercy—until Jenna, the Ikati’s newly crowned queen and Morgan’s former ally, offers one last chance for redemption. Morgan must infiltrate the Rome headquarters of the Expurgari, the Ikati’s ancient enemy, to destroy them once and for all. The beautiful renegade has just a fortnight to complete her mission or forfeit her life. Because she does not travel alone…
 
Xander Luna is a trained assassin and the Ikati’s most feared enforcer, famed for his swift brutality and stony heart. Fiercely loyal, he is prepared to hate the traitor under his watch—until they come face to face. For Morgan Montgomery arouses something unexpected inside of him, something that threatens everything he believes in and the fate of the tribe itself: a love as powerful and passionate as it is forbidden.

Sensual, thrilling, and action-packed, Edge of Oblivion will enthrall readers with nail-biting suspense and heart-pounding passion.

About the Author:
 
A life-long lover of reading and a self-professed “book addict,” J.T. Geissinger didn’t realize her dream of writing a novel until a milestone birthday forced her to take stock of her goals in life. Always believing the right time to commit to putting pen to paper would magically announce itself, it took waking up one cold January morning with a shiny new zero as the second number in her age to kick start her determination.
 
More than a year and two unsold novels later, it was time to take stock again.

But her determination matched her initial procrastination, and she kept on writing and learning and trying to improve, trusting that if it was meant to be, it would be.

Then, during a trip to Italy in honor of their 10th wedding anniversary and the honeymoon she and her husband never took, she received an email that would change her life. It was from a literary agent, and it contained the three words every aspiring author longs to hear: “I loved it.”
 
The manuscript was sold to Montlake Romance who published it six months later. Hitting the Amazon bestseller lists in both the US and the UK within weeks of publication, Shadow’s Edge was book one of the Night Prowler Novels. Book two, Edge of Oblivion published October 2nd, and book three will follow in the spring of 2013. Three additional installations in the Night Prowler series are planned for the future.

www.jtgeissinger.com
 
www.facebook.com/JTGeissinger
 
www.twitter.com/JTGissinger
 
www.goodreads.com/JTGeissinger

Tour Wide Giveaway: 10 print copies of Edge of Oblivion

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Guest Post and Giveaway: J.T. Geissinger

  1. Leanna H says:

    This looks like a great book I too have been a book addict since childhood. An Amazon giftcard is always a gift I am happy to get.

  2. Alicia says:

    I’ve just now started to accept that I am a book addict, I really don’t have time to read what is already on my shelves and I keep going out to get more – I do make a lot of progress when I am on vacation though, so that actually evens out.

    The local library system here is having their annual book sale, I am going nuts 🙂

Leave a Reply

